Welcome to the MWRC

The Manchester Wesley Research Centre is a partnership of institutions and a community of scholars working together to promote research in the Methodist, Wesleyan, and Evangelical traditions. It serves as a resource for students, scholars, and the church, particularly those at MWRC partner institutions

The MWRC promotes and supports research on the life and work of John and Charles Wesley, their contemporaries in the 18th century Evangelical Revival, their historical and theological antecedents, their successors in the Wesleyan traditions, and contemporary scholarship in the Wesleyan and Evangelical traditions. This includes areas such as theology, history, biblical studies, education, ethics, literature, mission, philosophy, pastoral studies, practical theology, social theology, and interdisciplinary studies.

The MWRC is located on the campus of Nazarene Theological College in the Manchester suburb of Didsbury and is affiliated with the Methodist Archives, housed in The John Rylands Library. These research centres provide magnificent resources for students and researchers in this field.

The new MWRC Brochure can be downloaded here. You can connect with us via our Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube pages.

Looking for something specific? Use the search bar below to find content or people. 

Contact Us

If you are interested in further information about the MWRC and its programmes, or would like to be placed on the mailing list for information about forthcoming events, please fill out the adjacent form or contact the Centre at one of the following addresses:

Manchester Wesley Research Centre
Dene Road, Didsbury
Manchester M20 2GU
United Kingdom

MWRC Director
Geordan Hammond, Ph.D. 
Email: ghammond@nazarene.ac.uk

MWRC Associate Director
David Bundy, Ph.D.
Email: dbundy@nazarene.ac.uk

MWRC International Representative
Howard A. Snyder, Ph.D.
Email: howard.snyder@asburyseminary.edu 

MWRC Post-doctoral Fellow
Karl Ganske, Ph.D.
Email: dr.karl.ganske@gmail.com

MWRC Library Assistant
Helen Stocker, M.Theol.
Email: hstocker@nazarene.ac.uk 

MWRC Postgraduate Assistant
Alex Parrish, MTS
Email: aparrish@nazarene.ac.uk

MWRC Postgraduate Assistant
Jordan Bruen, BA
Email: jordan.bruen@nazarene.ac.uk

Name *
Name